News2020.05.06 12:25

Baltic states to reopen internal borders on May 15 2020.05.06 12:25

Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia have agreed to lift restrictions on travel between the three Baltic states, Lithuanian Prime Minister Saulius Skvernelis said on Wednesday.

Skvernelis said on Facebook the agreement was reached with his Estonian and Latvian counterparts on Wednesday, and will come into effect on May 15. People returning to Lithuania from Latvia and Estonia will not be required to self-isolate for two weeks.

“We agreed that all the three Baltic countries managed to contain the spread of the coronavirus. Moreover, we trust each other's health care systems. Therefore, we are lifting restrictions for Lithuanian, Latvian and Estonian citizens traveling in the Baltic states from May 15,” said the prime minister.

He noted that Baltic citizens returning from outside the Baltic states would still need to self-isolate for two weeks, only they would be able to do it in their home country.

Previously, Skvernelis discussed a possibility to reopen the Lithuanian-Polish border with Polish Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki.

Read more: Lithuania and Poland agree to loosen travel restrictions across border

Lithuania and other countries reinstated border controls and shut their borders to foreigners in mid-March in a bid to stem the spread of the coronavirus.

The government lifted exit restrictions for Lithuanian nationals on Monday. Polish and Russian borders are currently closed to foreigners, but they are allowed to enter Belarus and Latvia, the other two countries bordering Lithuania.

People returning from any foreign country are currently required to spend 14 days in self-isolation.

LRT has been certified according to the Journalism Trust Initiative Programme

Newest, Most read