2020.08.17 14:51

Lithuania lifts entry blacklist for EU countries, Covid-19 tests to be mandatory

LRT.lt2020.08.17 14:51

Lithuania’s government on Monday lifted entry bans for EU and EEA citizens and residents. However, those travelling from countries most affected by the pandemic will need to undergo a test for Covid-19 prior to departure.

Test results for the coronavirus will be considered valid for 72 hours. Meanwhile, the requirement to self-isolate upon arrival when travelling from countries most affected by the pandemic remains in place.

Lithuanian nationals and residents arriving from countries with more than 25 cases of Covid-19 per 100,000 people will need to take a coronavirus test once back in Lithuania. They're not required to be tested prior to departure.

According to Lithuanian Health Minister Aurelijus Veryga, the lifting of entry restrictions applies only to citizens and residents of the European Union and the European Economic Area, including the United Kingdom, Switzerland, Norway, and Iceland.

People from outside the bloc will still need to apply for permission to come to Lithuania.

The government will also no longer publish a ‘blacklist’ of states most affected by the coronavirus pandemic that bars residents and citizens from those countries from entering Lithuania.

However, the infection rates in those countries will still guide the requirements whether arrivals from the affected countries will need to first undertake a test for Covid-19, according to Interior Minister Tamašunienė.

Those arriving from countries with 25 cases of Covid-19 per 100,000 people will need to do a coronavirus test prior to departure, the interior minister said.

If the infection rate in the country of departure exceeds 16 cases per 100,000 people, a 14-day self-isolation requirement will apply, according to BNS. The list – found on the website of the country's Health Ministry – will be updated regularly.

The Cabinet kept in place the requirement for all travelers arriving in Lithuania from abroad by air or sea to register with the National Public Health Centre (NPHC) before they disembark. Travelers coming by land must do so within 12 hours upon arrival.

UPDATE: Lithuania adds Ireland, Denmark, Greece, UK, Nepal to list of coronavirus-hit countries

Mums svarbus tikslumas ir sklandi tekstų kalba. Jei pastebėjote klaidų, praneškite