News2023.03.10 10:16

Russia sanctions 144 Baltic citizens 2023.03.10 10:16

Russia has blacklisted 144 citizens of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania from entering the country, Reuters reported on Thursday.

The people, whose names have not been announced publicly, were deemed “hostile” to Moscow.

Russia’s Foreign Ministry said it was a response to “active lobbying” for measures against Russia and “interference" in internal politics.

Moscow also claimed, without justification, that the individuals were involved in the “persecution of the Russian-speaking population" and “glorifying Nazism”. Similar false claims have been used by the Kremlin to justify its invasion of Ukraine.

In the statement published on Thursday, the Russian Foreign Ministry also said the individuals were sanctioned for supporting Kyiv “with weapons” and being involved in the campaign to demolish Soviet monuments.

LRT has been certified according to the Journalism Trust Initiative Programme