2020.10.12 10:10

Lithuania lifts self-isolation requirement for arrivals from 21 countries

LRT.lt2020.10.12 10:10

As of Monday, people arriving in Lithuania from Estonia, Bulgaria, Greece, Italy, Norway, Germany, Faroe Islands and 14 other countries will no longer have to self-isolate.

The other 14 countries include Bolivia, Kosovo, Turkey, the Philippines, Guatemala, Jamaica, Kyrgyzstan, Namibia, Suriname, the Virgin Islands, South Africa, Turks and Caicos Islands, Trinidad and Tobago and Venezuela.

Lithuania’s updated blacklist of coronavirus-affected countries came into effect on Monday.

After the change of quarantine rules on October 7, only people arriving from countries with a 10 percent higher count of new Covid-19 cases than Lithuania over the past 14 days will have to self-isolate.

Read more: Lithuania changes self-quarantine rules: only arrivals from countries with higher case-counts to isolate

As of October 9, Lithuania’s infection rate stood at 55.7 cases per 100,000 people. Previously, the benchmark had been 25 cases of Covid-19 cases confirmed over the last two weeks per 100,000 people.

More information about travel restrictions in Lithuania here.

Even if a non-EU country is removed from the affected list, only residents and nationals of EU and EEA countries, including the United Kingdom, Switzerland, Norway, and Iceland, can enter Lithuania.

There’s no self-isolation requirement when arriving from Estonia and Latvia. Meanwhile, Poland remains on the affected list, but people who travel for work, studies, health-related issues, or for farming work are not required to quarantine.

Meanwhile, self-isolation is also not required when flying via an affected country, as long as the traveller does not leave the transit zone.

People who travel overland via Poland and only stop for fuel, bathroom breaks, and other necessities, are also exempt from quarantine.