2020.08.09 10:00

Lithuania adds Poland, Netherlands, Iceland to travel blacklist

BNS, LRT.lt2020.08.09 10:00

Lithuania will on Monday introduce a mandatory 14-day self-isolation requirement for Lithuanian nationals and residents returning from Poland, the Netherlands, Iceland, Cyprus and Turkey, the Health Ministry said on Friday.

Non-Lithuanian residents will be allowed to come from Poland and Cyprus, but will also be required to self-isolate for two weeks. Meanwhile, foreigners will be barred from entering Lithuania from the Netherlands, Iceland and Turkey, save for for exceptions set by the government.

Read more: All travelers coming to Lithuania will be required to register with health authorities

Non-Lithuanian nationals are allowed to come to Lithuania from countries within the European Economic Area (EEA, plus the UK and Switzerland) with coronavirus infection rates of below 25 new cases per population of 100,000 over the last two weeks.

Meanwhile, Canada will be removed from Lithuania's blacklist of coronavirus-affected countries, meaning returning Lithuanian travelers will no longer need to self-isolate for two weeks.

Moreover, the government made an exception and foreigners are allowed to come to Lithuania from Canada and will not need to self-isolate for two weeks either.

Countries are put on Lithuania's blacklist if they record 16 new coronavirus cases per population of 100,000 over the past two weeks.

Lithuania's own infection rate remains went up from 5.7 to 7.6 over the last week, but it still remains among relatively safe countries, meaning that Lithuanian residents are allowed to travel to any country.

More information about travel restrictions here.