2020.06.08 10:31

Lithuania updates travel list – arrivals from UK, Sweden and Portugal still banned

LRT.lt2020.06.08 10:31

Lithuania has on Monday allowed arrivals from 28 countries, including Belgium which was previously blacklisted.

People travelling to Lithuania from 25 countries will no longer need to self-isolate. However, arrivals from Belgium and Ireland are still required to spend two weeks in self-isolation.

Meanwhile, a travel ban remains in place for Sweden, the United Kingdom, and Portugal.

Under the current rules, the ministry publishes a list of 'safe' countries every Monday. Once added to the list, countries may be removed, if Covid-19 infection count rises above 15 new cases per 100,000 people over the previous two weeks.

The easing of travel restrictions applies to the citizens and residents of the European Economic Area, Switzerland and the UK travelling from one of the safe countries. However, there is yet no decision on people arriving from non-EU countries.

Lithuanian residents and citizens are able to travel to Lithuania from anywhere in the world, but will have to self-isolate for two weeks unless arriving from the list of the so-called safe countries.

Lithuania’s Health Ministry said whether a person needs to self-isolate depends on the point of departure.

“If a person has proof that he’s travelling from a country [on the ‘safe list’], they will no longer have to self-isolate even if travelling via other countries,” unless the person spent time in the transit country “for business or other reasons,” according to the ministry.

People travelling from Scandinavian countries via Sweden will still need to self-isolate for two weeks, the ministry said.

CORRECTION: The previous version of this article incorrectly stated that arrivals from Malta need to self-isolate for two weeks.

Mums svarbus tikslumas ir sklandi tekstų kalba. Jei pastebėjote klaidų, praneškite