2019.07.09 13:00

Lithuania has four new MPs

Four new members of the Lithuanian Seimas were sworn in on Tuesday and assumed their positions, replacing politicians elected to the European Parliament.

Audronė Jankuvienė, representing the ruling Lithuanian Farmers and Greens Union (LVŽS), and Aistė Gedvilienė of the opposition conservative Homeland Union – Lithuanian Christian Democrats (TS-LKD) were sworn in for the first time.

Vilija Aleknaitė-Abramikienė, another TS-LKD member, became an MP for the 7th time. She previously served from 1992 until 2016.

Social Democract Bronius Bradauskas became a lawmaker for the 5th time after working in Seimas from 2000 until 2016.

They replaced LVŽS member Stasys Jakeliunas, TS-LKD members Rasa Juknevičienė and Andrius Kubilius and Social Democrat Juozas Olekas.

And since Aušra Maldeikienė, who was elected to the Lithuanian parliament in the single-member constituency and was later elected to the European Parliament, a by-election to fill her place will be held on September 8.