2019.05.27 08:57

Lithuanians to send 6 new delegates to European Parliament

Austėja Masiokaitė-Liubinienė, BNS2019.05.27 08:57

Lithuania will have six new representatives in the European Parliament after Sunday's election.

Laima Liucija Andrikienė and Algirdas Saudargas, representing the conservative Homeland Union – Lithuanian Christian Democrats (TS-LKD), social democrat Zigmantas Balčytis, Antanas Guoga, who represented the Liberal Movement during the past EP term, and Valentinas Mazuronis and Rolandas Paksas, both representing the Order and Justice party, will no longer work in the European Parliament.

Andrikienė was seventh on the TS-LKD list and failed to get into the EP, the initial candidate ratings show. Meanwhile, Saudargas and Balčytis did not stand for re-election.

Guoga ran for the EP with the Lithuanian Centre Party but it failed to get any seats.

Mazuronis was second on the Labour Party's list but the party received only one seat and it will probably be filled by the party's leader and incumbent MEP Viktor Uspaskich.

Paksas, former president, stood for election with a public election committee but did not get any EP seats.

Besides Uspaskich, liberal Petras Auštrevičius, social democrat Vilija Blinkevičiūtė, Valdemar Tomaševski, leader of the Electoral Action of Poles in Lithuania – Christian Families Alliance, and Bronis Ropė, representing the Lithuanian Farmers and Greens Union (LVŽS), will continue working in the European Parliament.

Based on initial figures, social democrat Juozas Olekas, Šarūnas Marčiulionis, a famous former basketball player representing the LVŽS, Homeland Union members Liudas Mažylis, former prime minister Andrius Kubilius and former defence minister Rasa Juknevičienė, as well as MP Aušra Maldeikienė, who stood for EP with a public election committee, were newly elected into the Parliament.

Mums svarbus tikslumas ir sklandi tekstų kalba. Jei pastebėjote klaidų, praneškite