2019.05.23 10:15

Lithuanian Daina Opolskaitė awarded EU literary prize 2019.05.23 10:15

The Lithuanian author Daina Opolskaitė is among the 14 writers to be awarded the European Union Prize for Literature, the Lithuanian Association of Publishers said.

Opolskaitė was recognised for her collection of short stories 'Dienų piramidės' (Pyramids of Days).

The aim of the European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) is to “put the spotlight on the creativity and diverse wealth of Europe’s contemporary literature in the field of fiction, to promote the circulation of literature within Europe and to encourage greater interest in non-national literary works”.

The prize is organised by the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF), the European Writers' Council (EWC) and the Federation of European Publishers (FEP) with the support of the European Commission.

Over the decade, 108 authors from 41 countries have been awarded the prize.

Three other Lithuanian writers are among the winners: Laura Sintija Černiauskaitė in 2009, Giedra Radvilavičiūtė in 2012, and Undinė Radzevičiūtė in 2015.